Father’s Day

My 5th Father’s Day without my dad has just passed.  Now, for me Father’s Day is a crap shoot – sometimes it is just another day, sometimes it a reflective day and other times it is simply a I MISS MY DAD day.  This year – it was good day.  I thought about my dad lots, missed him – but not with tears – instead my heart smiled.  I think part of that is because for the first time in about 10 years, Larry (that amazing guy I am married to) and I were at an archery shoot.  It was a blast.  We met great people, made new friends, stayed up way too late drinking and singing around the campfire but seriously is there a better way to spend a weekend?  I think not.

As a matter of fact, the weekend was such a success I even managed to bring home a trophy.  Yes in true Tanis style I was awarded for the very difficult task of missing more targets than I hit – it was great!!  Here is my trophy – which apparently I have to give up to a new winner next year:

archery trophy

So, I guess the moral of this story is you can loose and you can win – the choice is yours. And that brings me back to my friend Jill – you know the whip cracker who constantly challenges me physically, emotionally and mentally.  Yes, I know I asked for it but sometimes a girl has to gripe.

But seriously, in order to fully reclaim me I have to reclaim all aspects of my life.  Expanding my social circle is one of those steps.  When Larry was invited to come to shoot, we could have said thanks but no thanks as we don’t know anyone going – but we didn’t.  Instead we jumped at the chance, made new friends and are looking forward to going back next year.  Well I am not overly excited about giving up my trophy but I have a year to adjust to the idea.

Leave a Reply

