We’re One Weird Family

This is an amazing post – truly inspirational. I am encouraged to see others sharing their own journeys through grief and how they manage to come through the other side.

I truly laughed out loud when I read this post.  Here is a Dad, dealing with his girls, dealing with the loss of his wife and still manages to relate funny and heart-warming anecdotes about conversations with is his girls.

The Real Full House

weird family

Maybe it’s Mother’s Day that has brought about our most recent conversations.  I’m really not sure.

Lately it has been comical to hear my girls talk about awkward moments due to the loss of their mom.

When Michelle was riding with a friend and her mother, something was said about moms helping at school for some project.  The friend quickly reprimanded her mother for saying the “m” word in front of Michelle.

“It’s OK,” Michelle assured her.  “You can talk about mothers with me in the car.  It doesn’t bother me.”

Stephanie then shared the time last summer at camp where they were paired with a peer for prayer time before bed.

“The girl got on my bed and said, ‘My friend’s mom has cancer.  Can you IMAGINE your mom having cancer?’”

“Well actually…”

DJ was recognized at the Senior Salute, an end of year assembly for the National Charity…

View original post 366 more words

Leave a Reply

